Traveling

Puyo, Day 24: An interesting turn

It’s funny how people, especially (or only) foreigners here, earn money on being street artists, and a special kind – they develop this skill; to spin as many basketballs as possible at the same time; to juggle; to dress up as a dancing orangutang, and then they perform for the cars stopping for red lights. This is really funny and interesting to look at, ‘cus you are actually a bit bored and looking for something to do when stopping for red lights sometimes anyway. They afterwards walk around and collect money before the light turns green; I’m amazed they have the time for all that.

I found out today what the Zodiacs of Yvan and the other woman who’s here, are. The other woman, also a volunteer, is apparently the first love of the owner. They grew up in the same town in Switzerland. Now, in the middle of their 50’s, I think they found each other again. I’m not quite sure. She stays here for 2 months at least. They’re both Capricorn. He couldn’t have been Gemini anyway, being so reserved and calm.
However, this is not why I’m writing this blog right now.
So until now, my only impression of our Swiss host Yvan had just been: a stereotypical pleasure-being french guy who drinks liqour in the evening – this is the only thing in his kitchen that volunteers are not allowed to take – who eats cheese, who smoke cigars and who has a strong french accent. I have not yet connected with him or talked very much with him but today it suddenly happened. I asked him about this plant I gathered the stingy leafs from, as I heard it would be kidney-cleansing when used as a tea. I do not know the dosis though, and asked if he could help. I’d like to collect some research about the medicinal plants I stumble upon. We started talking about medicinal plants, he did not know much he said, however – he did know this ONE plant that would cure everything, he said. As he dragged out one of his liquor bottles, I laughed, convinced it was a joke. He said it was good for the stomach, the whole body, the spirit and everything. I just then realized he actually has Ayahuascha bottled in the fridge. We then started the big talk about that, and apparently he was (his words) a hard case when he first tried it. He had to use 2 ½ years to sort himself out on Ayahuascha before it worked well for him. Now, when he meets people he thinks he can help, he offers to take it with them. He explains it (though it is, ”so difficult to explain in human words” as he says) as if he, usually – depending on the person, reaches up to this higher level of understanding. Here he can see the other persons problems clearly, among everything else that exists, and after the trip he can then tell the person what he saw. He believes that no matter what happens, everything a person experiences on Ayahuascha is beneficial. Interesting conversation indeed. I wanted to stop several times to write everything down, but couldn’t really break the moment. We also discussed people’s fears and how it is not a party drug and how it is always a ceremony, a ritual.

Skriv en kommentar