Traveling

Puyo Day 25: Black holes and revelations

So today has been one big ups-and-downs day. After waking up under the metal roof attacked by the pouring night/morning rain, it started out pretty bad when I realized a rather big (small for this country though) tarantula had taken residence in the banana rack that we feed the monkeys with. I told it to a worker as I didn’t now if it was dangerous and he just stabbed it with a big knife and threw it to the floor. I almost cried seeing it cramping in death and killed it off faster with a bad banana.. After that the rain went on for quite some hours and the usual non-existent communication went on between me and the others, as the workers don’t tell us anything really. We usually have to ask what to do and deal with sometimes feeling like we’re more a menace than a help.. I thought about that a lot today, especially after being forgotten when there was apparently lunch and I went down to find a few potatoes left. Also in the morning the housekeeping put eggs in the food, I guess she wasn’t told there’s a vegan here, but that I can cope with, I’m used to it. But the lack of administration in general kind of sucks, because it often feels like one is being left out. Anyway, after sulking some time I read a Krishna learn-spanish-book and the first word I wanted to look up was ’to forgive’. I smiled, wrote down my bad thoughts in my diary and felt much better. After that I had the most amazing last evening walk, with the 5 dogs living there too, around the zoo, down by the river which had risen after the heavy rain and back down the road towards the town where I had the most stunning panorama; Tall and dark green banana palm trees in the front, behind: green hills and never-ending rainforest and a tall, dark-blue line of mountains behind with clouds hiding the peaks. Above: white, blue, yellow and pink tinted clouds in the sunset, in sharp contrast to the shaded landscape below. And such a blue sky. Wow. I stopped to gaze for a while, dogs running around my legs excitedly. I felt good and appreciated in their presence which made me very happy.

Tomorrow we’re going to hitchhike further into the jungle to Tena where the volunteer place Wisdom Forest is. I hope the welcoming will be better there, and good news; They tell me all the food is vegan! As long as there is some, I’m happy! Maybe then I don’t have to live off (fall for) bread half the time – I’m getting rashes and I have a notion it’s gluten related.. With white rice as a 40% of their diet and gluten another 30% here in South America, it’s also kind of hard to avoid!

Oh yeah, and i had Black Holes and Revelations on my brain the whole day, which kind of matched my thoughts.

Skriv en kommentar