Traveling

Fes, Day 244: Crossing Gibraltar, Tangier → Chefchaouen → Fes

So I made it on one of the last ferries to the African continent that day, thrilled to have made it to my goal – to cross the same day. I got a ride to Tangier and the truck driver stayed and waited for my host an hour with me, even though he had a family and children waiting, long into the night. I ended up sending him home and waiting alone for my host, who had sad ‘3 minutes and then I’m there’ and again ’10 minutes’ and even so he came one and a half hour later then he shuld have. My stay with this host ended up being a bit absurd, like living with a Moroccan incarnation of Michael Cera from Crystal Fairy; he constantly told me white lies to improve his image or who knows what, he did weird ninja-like morning gymnastics in front of me when I woke up and also, woke me up in the middle of the night, telling me how he didn’t understand why I wanted to sleep and why I didn’t go out. And if I wanted to watch movies, also complaining he couldn’t buy cigarettes during Ramadan and that he was bored and had nothing to do. His house was filthy and we only ate the food that I bought, because his was aldready gone bad. But besides that he was actually trying his best and wanted me to have a good time I think.

Tarifa-Tangier Med

_MG_0114 _MG_0116 _MG_0123 _MG_0126 _MG_0127 _MG_0129

During these two days I had talked with another couchsurfer about HH to Chefchaouen – the hash capital and old city of Morocco. So we did, it only took us around 3 hours. Chefchaouen is a charming little city with the whole medina painted blue, in the mountains with chilled out vibes. I really like the place and will come back one day.

_MG_0131 _MG_0132 _MG_0134 _MG_0136 _MG_0138 _MG_0140_1 _MG_0142 _MG_0153 _MG_0157

Chefchaouen at night with a true Arabic moon and Venus and Jupiter above. Stunning!

Chefchaouen at night with a true Arabic moon and Venus and Jupiter above. Stunning!

_MG_0161 _MG_0162 _MG_0164 _MG_0165 _MG_0166 _MG_0174 _MG_0178 _MG_0180 _MG_0181 _MG_0182 Plas de Bleuville, Chaouen Bleauville

After that, I went to Fes alone with a bus – note to travellers: DON’T go with local bus companies unless you speak good Arabic or French. I did the mistake of buying a cheaper ticket than the ones that the tourist company CTM offers, resulting in me having to change bus twice, the last bus wanting to charge me for another ticket even though I had already paid in the start of the journey, and the whole bus full ofangry men and little me fighting in Arabic over whether I should pay again or not. One guy ended up paying for me, because he was so angry at the busdriver charging me more apparently. So nice of him! Bus confusing sitting in the middle of a discussion in Arabic, with fasting and irritable men, not understanding anything.
I arrived 2 1/2 hours later than expected to Fes and it took me several hours to track down my host, Fatima, but I finally found her at her work place, the Ryad Mabrouka, which was like arriving in a 1000 and 1 night fairytale-paradise where Fatima prepared the most delicious food and mint tea for me, sitting in the garden by the pool and talking with the loveliest lady of all time. So much love.

Ryad Mabrouka _MG_0189 _MG_0193

More pics of Fes from the following days below.

_MG_0205 _MG_0206 _MG_0207

Dear Fatima

Dear Fatima

_MG_0213

Breaking the fast on night with Fatima :) Time for breakfast!

Breaking the fast on night with Fatima 🙂 Time for breakfast!

Today I’m planning my trip to Marrakech where I will spend my last 4 days of my journey here in Morocco before I head back to France and Europe! Uh exciting!
Hopefully I have learned more than 5 french words by then haha. Let’s see how it goes!

En kommentar

  1. John

    Kaere Vibe

    Jeg har nydt dine dagbog fra dag til dag og rejst med dig
    ogsaa ind mine droemme var du med
    Ud paa stranden med agressive hunde, paa graensen til Bolivia da du var “staerk” overfor graensepoliti
    Hele tiden har jeg noedt dine commentar or beskrivelser
    Jeg har vaeret meget misunndeligt
    Det er ikke en ferie eller en sabbatical
    It is a life trip
    I can not imagine you coming back and picking up your life “as usual”
    You are and mayby always have been a global cityzan
    Looking forward seeing and hearing you at Chrstmash

    Knuffel fra din mors svigebror

    Like

    7. august 2015 kl. 22:48

Skriv en kommentar